Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomePhilly News Awards 2024

2024 Philly News Awards


Congratulations to the winners of the 2024 Philly News Awards!

We had an amazing group of nominees across our 16 categories this year, as evidenced by the impressive 3,335 votes cast. 

Club President Bobbi Booker at the 2024 Philly News Awards ceremony

Each of the thousands of votes was associated with a unique email address, by the way, so there was no ballot-stuffing — and many of these contests were very close. 

We had a fantastic party at the Club to announce the results and present the winners with their official plaques. Thanks to everyone who came out. It was a super diverse group of journalists, newsmakers, and creators, including a rep from Gov. Shapiro’s office and the gentleman behind the NoGunZone Instagram account.

NoGunZone creator and Gov. Shapiro representative at the 2024 Philly News Awards ceremony

Scroll down to check out the results. If you’re a winner and you didn’t get your plaque, please contact the board, we’ll coordinate so you can pick it up at the Club.

And if you’re not yet a member, talk to us!


Political Reporting of the Year — Anna Orso, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Gun Violence Prevention Reporting of the Year — Ellie Rushing, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Arts Reporting of the Year — Rosa Cartagena, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Food Reporting of the Year — Michael Klein, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Sports Reporting of the Year — Kyle Neubeck, PHLY

Infrastructure Reporting of the Year — Inga Saffron, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Tech Reporting of the Year — Paige Gross

Data Journalism of the Year — Ryan Briggs, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Service Journalism of the Year — Samantha Melamed, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Newsletter of the Year — The Philadelphia Inquirer Morning Newsletter

Podcast of the Year — Mighty Writers Podcast

Video Storytelling of the Year — I-95 collapse repair cam

Nontraditional News Provider of the Year — NoGunZone

Freelance Journalist of the Year — Denise Clay-Murray

Editor of the Year — Danya Henninger,

Newsmaker of the Year — The Kelces